Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-13-2014

BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

Hello, together!

 

I have a problem with detecting EVA from 1 (of two) ports at 825 HBA in vSphere client.

 

I have HP Eva P6350 and two HP DL380p G8 servers with Brocade 825 adapter in each other. I have connected it directly.

During first time installation I added 2 Hosts at HP Command View, made LUN Presentation and I was able to saw my storage

from vSprere client.

Then I upgraded BIOS to v.3.2.3 at my HBAs. (because I had error during booting server "bfa panic bioc.c:1223 firmware heartbeat failure"

This error is not appears after it.

 

But at one of HBA's in vSprere client I see 2 ports and EVA detects only from one port (see screenshots please)

At the second server with the same HBA I can see EVA from two ports.

 

I have compared setting of 2 HBAs from BIOS and BCU. At first glance setting are the same.

I don't know what to do.

 

Thank you.

Egor

best regards,
Egor
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-13-2014

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

I'm sorry: I don't see EVA also from second port from other server.

best regards,
Egor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

Hallo zusammen,

 

What 'topology' is set in the HBAs? Maybe one of the HBAs is trying to use a FC-SW topology instead of FC-AL or P2P.

 

Rgds

Valued Contributor
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

hi Egor,

 

from what i heard, some brocade hbas require "switched" topology even when connected to the storage with direct cables. try setting your eva ports like the array is connecting to the switch?

 

alternatively, try the procedure described at http://www.jpaul.me/?p=4275

 

good luck

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-13-2014

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

hello, Alexey!

 

thank you for your answer.

 

after first installation steps i couldn't see my storage because adapters were in p2p mode by factory default.

I already read this article. and set up my hbas to loop mode. after it ports were detect as "connected" in hp eva control panel, and

in vsphere client i could see my storage.

the only thing i can't make now : to use hba's in

1 HBAport - active(I/O)

2 HBAport - active

I see only one working path to storage.

 

Egor

best regards,
Egor
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-13-2014

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

Hello, felipon.

 

thank you for your answer.

 

topolgy now in set to loop.

 

and there is one strange thing: i used boot live cd with bcu from brocade v.3.2.3 to reconfig mode of HBAs.

after setting mode to loop in bcu and saving changes, i checked bios parameters of HBA with entering in bios

with CTRL+B. in bios the mode of HBA detected as P2P. I stay it as is. Because after config in bcu my HBA starts to work.

 

Egor

best regards,
Egor
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-13-2014

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

[ Edited ]

it seems that is work now...

I have install CIM provider for brocade card for esxi 5.5

and in esxicli i set up default psp as RR:

 

esxcli storage nmp satp set –s VMW_SATP_ALUA –P VMW_PSP_RR

 

after rebooting 1st host where I made it, 2 HBA ports were in connection state:

first active I/O

secon

 

at the second host nothing changed after the same actions.

i have rebooted twice and nothing. I despaired and decided to check one again bios setting 

for both HBA ports. so they are the same. 

 

...and after booting of host the second port become visible...

i didn't change anything...just reboot and login/logof bios...

 

I tried to shutdown 2 hosts and then power on.

after booting:

 

1st host - 1 port active

2nd host - 2 ports active

 

strange..

 

 

Egor

 

 

 

best regards,
Egor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

this also suggests that it shouldn't work:
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Storage-Area-Networks-SAN/Eva-P6350-Fabric-Direct/td-p/6138791

btw, i ask you once again to try setting both ends of the connection to the "switched" topology. one of my customers reported that this worked for them - with npiv on esx side and another disk array, but anyway...
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-13-2014

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

but it works))

 here there is a post about support of direct connection in driver v.3.1

http://community.brocade.com/t5/Fibre-Channel-SAN/HBA-support-for-Direct-Connect-Arbitrated-Loop/td-p/27881

 

so now, after each restart of esxi host, connection to eva changes from one storage adapter port to another

 

best regards,
Egor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: BR 825 Adapter Direct connect to HP EVA P6350

well, i just can't get from what you say - is it ok or not? is it what you expect to see or not? so if everything is ok from your point of view, then i'm more than happy. but just be aware that "it is working" and "it is supported" have different meanings.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.