Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

Advice on expired Brocade switch

Hey,

I am pretty new to Brocade.  I am thinking of  getting a Brocade 4100 brand new form ebay and includes some good  features and zoning.  This switch is end of availability I believe.   Seems like a good switch from the product data sheet.  Is it a bad idea  to purchase this?  I am getting it for a SAN lab and want to get  familiar with zoning etc which the switch is capable of.  I am a storage  guy but now looking at FC in depth.  Advice please!

External Moderator

Re: Advice on expired Brocade switch

Is EOL and EOS, Support FOS till 6.x.x, , FOS 6.4.2a is the latest Release.

I've TWO Brocade 4100 in my LAB and work Rock Solid.

FOS 7.x is NOT Supported.

--->>>I am getting it for a SAN lab and want to get  familiar with zoning etc which the switch is capable of.

it's more at enough, just ask the Seller about Installed License.

some on Ebay sell Brocade switch which are Pure Spare-Part without any License, and such switch are uselessly.

TechHelp24
Regular Contributor

Hi rprudent,

I've 12 4100s which have been for working fine for years without any hardware issue, depending on price I think it's not a bad idea for a lab.

4100 is not EOS at this time, it will be at the end of 2012.

If you only buy one and don't plan to build a fabric in your lab, include it in an existing fabric and only want to learn by yourself zoning, you don't really have to care about license. For advanced features such as FabricWatch, you will need some.

Last thing important from my point of view : number of licensed ports. Be aware that by default 4100 has only 8 ports enabled (maybe not enough for you ?), having 32 ports requires 2 Ports On Demand licenses.

Best for you is to get 'licenseshow' output cli from seller, then you'll know which features are available or not. And have a baseline for price discussion

Kind regards,

--

david

External Moderator