Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Hi

 

I am implementing FCIP for my Hitachi Universal Replicator  with 4 box solution .  (2 7840 Boxes at each site) .    We are considering the solution at 7840   and Network level . These switches are connected to Cisco 5548  with Port channel configured. 

 

How can we achieve the HA with setup and whether Broacde 7840 supports Port channeling .  I have gone through some docuemnets  and found similar concept of Extensive Trunking.  There are docuements  avialable only for commands , not  much related to design 

 

 

 

 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎05-11-2011

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Hi,

 

HA you will get with FCIP-Trunking. So several circuits in one VE-Port and no need for Port-Channels.

 

Kind Regards
Ralf
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Thanks for quick reply . Any idea  how broacde communicates to CISCO 5548 ? we  are used 10G SFP to connect to it, however cisco Hitahi came back with saying , Brocade ge 10G SFP doesnt support on cisco 5548 

Any link for best practises for 7840 connecting to Core Router/Firewall ?


ralf.schlosser wrote:

Hi,

 

HA you will get with FCIP-Trunking. So several circuits in one VE-Port and no need for Port-Channels.

 


 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,906
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

AFAIK,

 

Cisco 5548 don't support FCIP, for this reason you cannot create a FCIP tunnel with Brocade 7840.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Thanks Antonio for the reply   Now we are checking the possibilities 7840 to Active/Passive fireall

 

Any link   for Brocade 7840 compatibility with Cisco Switches/ ASA Firewall ?

 

There is  below which talks @ the SAN connection , not FCIP connection. 

https://www.brocade.com/content/dam/common/documents/content-types/product-matrix/brocade-compatibility-matrix-fos-7x-mx.pdf  

 


Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24 wrote:

AFAIK,

 

Cisco 5548 don't support FCIP, for this reason you cannot create a FCIP tunnel with Brocade 7840.




External Moderator
Posts: 4,906
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Hi,

 

->Now we are checking the possibilities 7840 to Active/Passive fireall

 

I think, but is just my opinion, such a config is not supported for follow reason.

 

the 10G Port on Brocade can be configured as a simple Uplink, but AFAIK, it cannot be configured or set as NPIV.

 

NPIV is required on cisco side in order to get a link up on 5548

 

About ASA Firewall, I'm not confident with the plattforms, but i think 95% such a config is not supported.

 

If I'm wrong, please ignore my post.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,906
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

I found follow instruction from Extension Guide

 

http://www.brocade.com/content/html/en/administration-guide/fos-740-extensionguide/GUID-8C914D4A-E78C-4414-8487-2EAA9FDF15B3.html

 

a similarly config as per you request show to be supported from 1GE Port.

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Thanks 

 

Any idea which module of Cisco nexus supports FCIP traffic as uplink ,   I have found  Nexus 7K  passes FCIP traffic further  . Hitachi is recommending to  replace  Cisco 5548 with 5596 . 

 

As u mentioned , the chances of cross connection firewall would be slip as Passive  F/W can pass traffic further and we already in risk of losing 2 path 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,906
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

->Hitachi is recommending to  replace  Cisco 5548 with 5596 . 

 

xx48 or xx96 Models, are EXACT!!! the same platforms with same Features, the only one Difference is Port Count.

 

To be honestly is to me a mystery why HDS give such you such a recommendation ????

 

well, if you want to replace the CISCO, then replace it with another Brocade 7840, and resolve all the problem.

 

As per my opinion is a most easy solutions.

 

-->>Any idea which module of Cisco nexus supports FCIP traffic as uplink ,

 

No sorry. As I said in my other post yesterday, AFAIK, neither the Nexus 5548 nor the 5596 don't support FCIP, apart of that I'm unable to assist you with such a plattforms.

 

I would suggest to ask in Cisco Forum, we are here by Brocade.

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.