Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Is there anyone that can provide insight into the configuration of the tunnel/circuit on a 7840?

 

I have 2 units deployed on a private 10G wavelength circuit.

 

The units are up and running, with 1 / 2G (min / max) bandwidth configured. When I attempt to increase the min / max the tunnel shutsdown and the curciut wont ever leave 'In Prog' as its state.

 

Any help appreciated.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Hi agehring,

 

you question is not clear in details, can you please post he config ?

 

FYI, if i remember correct, a tunnel with more at 1Gbs is supported only in a Multi-Gigabit Circuit, additional a 10Gig License must be present.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

  

I have two 7840s, that are connected and running a current tunnel, e.g.;

 

Circuit 24.0 (DP0)

====================================================

  Admin/Oper State     : Enabled / Online

  Flags                : 0x00000000

  IP Addr (L/R)        : 192.168.254.2 ge2 <-> 192.168.254.3

  HA IP Addr (L/R)     : 0.0.0.0  <-> 0.0.0.0

  Configured Comm Rates: 1000000 / 2000000 kbps

  Peer Comm Rates      : 1000000 / 2000000 kbps

  Actual Comm Rates    : 1000000 / 2000000 kbps

  Keepalive Timeout    : 6000 ms

  Metric               : 0

  Connection Type      : Default

  ARL-Type             : Auto

  PMTU                 : Disabled

  Failover Group       : 0

  VLAN-ID              : NONE

  L2Cos (FC:h/m/l)     : 0 / 0 / 0 (Ctrl:0)

  L2Cos (IP:h/m/l)     : 0 / 0 / 0

  DSCP (FC:h/m/l)      : 0 / 0 / 0 (Ctrl:0)

  DSCP (IP:h/m/l)      : 0 / 0 / 0

  cfgmask              : 0x00000c2f 0x40000000

  Flow Status          : 0

  ConCount/Duration    : 2 / 20h49m

  Uptime               : 17h44m

  Stats Duration       : 17h43m

  Receiver Stats       : 4246307600 bytes / 31225815 pkts /   78.35 KBps Avg

  Sender Stats         : 1653273012844 bytes / 122653016 pkts /    6.41 MBps Avg

  TCP Bytes In/Out     : 7772998108 / 1964982307536

  ReTx/OOO/SloSt/DupAck: 193 / 0 / 16 / 0

  RTT (min/avg/max)    : 1 / 24 / 24 ms

 

They are connected to 10G interfaces on my network switches and show running at 10G, e.g.;

 

     ge2           id    10G     Online      FCIP

 

I have the WAN Rate Upgrade 1 license, installed 

 

admin> licenseshow

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    Advanced Extension license

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    Extended Fabric license

    Trunking license

    Fabric Vision license

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    WAN Rate Upgrade 1 license

 

when I attempt to increase the min/max bandwidht beyond the current 1000000 / 2000000 kbps, the tunnel drops, and the circuit goes into 'In Prog" status.

 

I'm trying to get the min / max to 5000000 / 9500000 kbps

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

How many Tunnel have you configured ?

 

from Relase Notes:

 

> WAN license provide for a troughput up to 5 Gbps

> The total bandwidth aggregated for all tunnels should not exceed the limits established by the licenses.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

> WAN license provide for a troughput up to 5 Gbps

> The total bandwidth aggregated for all tunnels should not exceed the limits established by the licenses.

 

As noted, the WAN Rate Upgrade 1 license is installed:

 

WAN Rate Upgrade 1

Increases bandwidth available to all extension tunnels configured on the switch from 5 Gbps for the base hardware to 10 Gbps.

 

I'll also note that a change to the current bandwidth, meaning above the current setting of 2G (max), fails - so even a change to 5G doesn't work.

 

Only the one tunnel/circuit

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

I think - but I'm not sure - the restrictions Note refer both WAN 1 and 2 License.

but when you say, you only this one tunnel/circuit configured, you should have enough throughput so any License problem can be excluded.

 

have you review FOS Release Notes if any such impact is caused due a Defective ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

Running 7.4.1b.

 

There was nothing in the release notes that appeared relevant to my environment...

 

I would hope that there isn't a 'defect' that a swich designed to transfer FC traffic @ 40G, can't be configured to operate above 2G.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Is anyone familiar with what the difference is between:

 

portcfgge --set -wan

 

portcfgge --set -lan

 

???

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

gehring,

 

just to understand, is this a FCIP Circuit ?

 

I found a note, but is not specified if this restriction is only on 7800 or 7840

 

>A single FCIP circuit cannot exceed 1 Gbps capacity

 

if this is applicable to 7840, that would answer the question.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Yes, this is a FCIP circuit.

 

>A single FCIP circuit cannot exceed 1 Gbps capacity

 

Considering that it's currently running a 2G, I'm guessing this doesn't apply to the 7840...

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.