Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-01-2009

7500e Boot Failure

After moving one of my 7500e routers from one rack to another, the system no longer boots properly. I get the error messages listed below. Is there anything I can do to reset/clear the current configuration or any pieces I can try to reseat in order to correct this issue? The switch boots up, but the ports don't ever seem to even attempt to initialize.

2000/01/01-00:44:11, , 136523,, CRITICAL, IBM_2005_R04, Blade in slot 0 faulted, boot failed; status 0xb0 0x0 0x30.
2000/01/01-00:44:11, , 136524,, ERROR, IBM_2005_R04, Switch set to faulty, rc=20015.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: 7500e Boot Failure

Most likely a flash rom error. Try to swap the boot partitions and see if that works. If the switch is under maintenance call your vendor. They should fix that.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-01-2009

Re: 7500e Boot Failure

Is there documentation on how to swap them? I searched here, but didn't find anything that sounded quite right.

We had a mixup between my reseller and vendor on the last warranty payment, I guess. Until they get things straightened out, I'm stuck trying to get this running by myself. I hope to have it covered again soon, but I don't have my hopes too high.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-01-2009

Re: 7500e Boot Failure

Does anyone have any ideas how we might be able to swap the boot partitions? Could I possible copy a boot card from another switch?

Regular Contributor
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: 7500e Boot Failure

you might want to break into the boot loader (via serial connection, hit Esc when it asks) and select alternate partition to boot from.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.