Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

5100's port errors

Okay, I'm not an expert on Brocade Switches, nor pretend to be one.  We typically setup or switches, add aliases and zones whenver needed.  We do monitor them using NetApp DFM.

Anyway, I cut over to a second new switch yesterday for a short time before moving all of my connections back.  What I saw on my unix hosts were path failures, run queues increasing, cpu wait io, abnormally busy disks.  However, looking at the port statistics, there were tens of thousands of errors on most connections with several with hundreds of thousands of error during a short 45 minute time frame.  In setting up this switch, I attempted to dump the current config of a 4100 which is on FOS 5.0.1d, and apply it to the 5100 which was on 6.1.0c but that did not appear to be supported.  So, to save fat fingering I wrote a script to parse all the zones, aliases, and configs to recreate the overall zoning configurations.  Note before cutover this switch was just upgraded to 6.2.1b due to a firmware bug in 6.1.0c with the power supplies.  I know the script works because it was used for another 5100 switch that is on FOS 6.1.0c.  Before the upgrade, I configured all of the aliases and zones, the upgrade occurred and now an attempted cut-over.

Anyone have any ideas?

TIA,

Pete's

New Contributor

Re: 5100's port errors

Hi Pete.

A couple of thoughts - not sure how useful they'll be.

1.  Are your errors on all ports on just one or two?  Sometimes I don't get connectors to seat properly and have pull them out and reconnect them.  You might also try cleaning the ends of the fiber connectors - that helps me when I have errors on individual ports.   If you are taking errors on *all* your ports then you have something else going on.