Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-09-2011

Voice Vlan not working as planned

I have a new IP phone system and i am having issues with the Voice Vlan.

Core Switch FCX648GS  running full router package

Software version 7.4.00t7f3

 

tagged vlans from uplink Vlan 800

                             

Edge Switch that the phones are connected to

FWS648G

Software version 7.4.00t7f3

 

Vlan 700 is the Default Vlan ID

Vlan 800 is the Voice Vlan

 

I have tagged all ports that need a phone to 800 and configured 700 as dual mode. When i plug the phone to the interface it gets an IP from Vlan 700. If i turn off tagging in 800 and set the port to untagged in 800 it gets the correct IP.

 

I have an IP helper on the VE interface 800

 

Below is a sample of the config on the edge.

 

!
ver 07.4.00T7e1
!
module 1 fws1g-48-port-copper-base-module
!
!
!
!
vlan 700 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
 spanning-tree 802-1w
 spanning-tree 802-1w priority 400
!
vlan 800 name MLK-Voice by port
 tagged ethe 0/1/2 ethe 0/1/4 to 0/1/5 ethe 0/1/48
 untagged ethe 0/1/9 ethe 0/1/11 ethe 0/1/13 ethe 0/1/15 ethe 0/1/17 ethe 0/1/19                                                                              ethe 0/1/24 ethe 0/1/46
 spanning-tree 802-1w
 spanning-tree 802-1w priority 400
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
boot sys fl sec
default-vlan-id 700
enable telnet password .....
enable super-user-password .....
hostname switch1
ip address 192.168.180.201 255.255.254.0
no ip dhcp-client auto-update enable
no ip dhcp-client enable
ip default-gateway 192.168.180.200
cdp run
fdp run
snmp-server community ..... ro
interface ethernet 0/1/1
 inline power power-by-class 2
 trust dscp
!
interface ethernet 0/1/2
 dual-mode
 inline power power-by-class 2
 voice-vlan 800
 trust dscp
!
interface ethernet 0/1/3
 inline power power-by-class 2
 trust dscp
!
interface ethernet 0/1/4
 dual-mode
 spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
 inline power power-by-class 2
 voice-vlan 800
 trust dscp

 

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: Voice Vlan not working as planned

What phones?

 

Are you running LLDP?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-09-2011

Re: Voice Vlan not working as planned

LLDP is enabled globally. The phones are shortel.230G.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-09-2011

Re: Voice Vlan not working as planned

The main issue seems to be with the native VLAN being vlan 700. Even though i set dual mode to 700 it fails to tag any traffic from 800. If i take off dual mode on the native vlan and leave the port tagged to 800, the phones get the right IP.

 

I have created a new scope for testing, i created vlan 701 and tagged port 4 in both 701/800 and left it dual mode in 700 (Native Vlan) This works, but why will it not work the other way? I know what i have to do now to get this to work, but i am still curious as to why the other would not work?

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎01-28-2013

Re: Voice Vlan not working as planned

[ Edited ]

I have just about the same setup as you.

I think you'lll have to set you IP phones (maually or programatically on boot) to use VLAN 800. We had to do this on our DHCP server scope options for our Avaya IP phones. We do it manually on our Jive Polycom IP phones now.

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-21-2014

Re: Voice Vlan not working as planned

Have you tried adding the vlan ID to your dual-mode statement?

 

interface ethernet X/X/X
 dual-mode 700
 inline power power-by-class 2
 voice-vlan 800
 trust dscp

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.