Ethernet Switches & Routers

New Contributor

VRF-lite on the ICX 6450

I am new to the Brocade line, but have extensive knowledge and hands on with Cisco.  I was reading in the latest documents for the ICX 6450 that VRF-lite is supported (Cannot find if it is supported in 7.4).  I was wondering if anyone has tried configuring it and does it function similar to Cisco VRF-lite?

Thank you,

Greg

Super Contributor

Re: VRF-lite on the ICX 6450

Hi Greg,

VRF-Lite is in version 8 code and not supported in 7.x.. See chapter 11 of "Layer 3 Routing Configuration Guide"

Sample config

R1(config)#vrf corporate

R1(config-vrf-corporate)#rd 11:11

R1(config-vrf-corporate)#ip router-id 1.1.1.1

R1(config-vrf-corporate)#address-family ipv4

R1(config-vrf-corporate-ipv4)#

R1(config-vrf-corporate-ipv4)#exit

R1(config)#vrf guest

R1(config-vrf-guest)#rd 10:10

R1(config-vrf-corporate)#ip router-id 1.1.1.2

R1(config-vrf-guest)#address-family ipv4

R1(config-vrf-guest-ipv4)#exit

R1(config)#

R1(config)#show vrf

Total number of VRFs configured: 2

Status Codes - A:active, DSmiley Tongueending deletion, I:inactive

Name                          Default RD                vrf|v4|v6 Routes Interfaces

corporate                   11:11                          A | A| I      0   

guest                           10:10                         A | A| I      0

Total number of IPv4 unicast route for all non-default VRF is 0

Total number of IPv6 unicast route for all non-default VRF is 0

R1(config)#

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor

Michael,

Thank you for the input, I will give the configuration a try.  I am however unable to see the chapters when looking at the online documentation.

Greg

Frequent Contributor

gs0306,

Please click on the link below which takes you to the page in L3 config guide that covers MultiVRF/ VRF-Lite.

http://www.brocade.com/downloads/documents/html_product_manuals/FI_08000a_L3_ROUTE/wwhelp/wwhimpl/js/html/wwhelp.htm#href=FI_MultiVRF.13.01.html