Ethernet Switches & Routers

New Contributor

Show Run/Show FDP Help

I'm very new to Brocade switches coming from a Cisco background. I've just started on a contract that uses some Brocade switches (FastIron SX800, FGS48G) I'm having a little trouble understanding a few of the features. My first problem is when doing a 'show run' I don't see any interfaces except for one or two gig ports and a couple of interface vlans. I understand that brocade switches won't show interfaces in 'show run' output until they have been enabled. Doesn't make a whole lot of sense to my Cisco brain but ok. I know I shouldn't see anything for disabledports. When I do a 'show FDP' however, I see I have multiple connections coming into my switch. If I do a 'show interface <interface>' I see those interfaces as up/up. If a port is up/up and showing it has a neighbor via FDP then I would make the assumption that the port is enabled. Why don't I see these ports in my 'show run' output? Most of the ports are assigned to a vlan or trunked. Is it because these ports are layer two ports assigned to a vlan and no other configuration changes?

Another question I have is in my 'show FDP' on the FastIron SX800 I've noticed a few ports going to what looks to be two different devices. For example I have eth3/17 going to a FastIron2 eth0/1/40AND eth3/17 going to a Cisco switchblade g0/15. How exactly is this possible? Not being able to see all of the ports both enabled/disabled has made trying to figure this out a little more difficult. I realize it keeps the config nice and neat but for someone like me with no Brocade experience it would be helpful to see all of the ports just to see how the switch ports are labled and such.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Occasional Contributor

Re: Show Run/Show FDP Help