Ethernet Switches & Routers

New Contributor

Router-Interface command invalid?

Hi,

I am new to Brocade and have our first switch, an FCX648.  I am following the configuration guide about how to setup virtual inerfaces and I am running into troubles, Below is what I am entering based on the config guide example:

(config)# vlan 200

(config-vlan-200)# router-interface ve200

Invalid input -> router-interface ve200

Type ? for a list

When I hit ?,  router-interface is not even listed as an option.  Is there something else I need to turn on first?  I had already created vlan 200 and named it and I have a few ports both tagged and untagged on that vlan.  What else am I misising?  I searched here for help and everyone seems to just be using this command without a problem.

Thanks,

Kevin Stephenson

Technology Coordinator

Muscle Shoals City Schools

CMD
Contributor

Re: Router-Interface command invalid?

Are you sure you are running the base layer 3 software image? Please post the output from "sh ver"...

Thanks

CMD
Contributor

Also the output from "sh flash"

New Contributor

Below are the outputs of both commands.  I have not reloaded any firmware on the FCX648.  It is as it came out of the box a few weeks ago.

Thanks,

Kevin

sh ver:

Copyright (c) 1996-2010 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.

UNIT 1: compiled on Mar 17 2010 at 22:15:04 labeled as FCXS07001b
                (3805331 bytes) from Primary /foundry/FGS/os/FCXS07001b.bin
        SW: Version 07.0.01bT7f1
  Boot-Monitor Image size = 369286, Version:07.0.01T7f5 (grz07001)
  HW: Stackable FCX648
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 1: FCX-48G 48-port Management Module
         Serial  #: BGG2210F00F
         P-ENGINE  0: type DB90, rev 01
         P-ENGINE  1: type DB90, rev 01
==========================================================================
  800 MHz Power PC processor 8544E (version 33/0022) 400 MHz bus
65536 KB flash memory
  512 MB DRAM