Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
nicholas1
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

I am new to Brocade switches are they similar to Cisco's?

All I want to is assign a port on to one of our VLAN's can someone give me a cheat sheet of commands or something I know its a simple question help!

Super Contributor
mschipp
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Hi nicholas1,

     To add a port to a Vlan (say vlan 20);

Brocade#config term

Brocade(config)# vlan 20

Brocade(config-vlan-20)# tag ether 1/1 <-- port numbering will depend of what type of switch/router you have - use show int bri for a list of port and port numbering)

Above puts port 1/1 into vlan 20 as a tagged port (dot1.q tag - switch port mode trunk)

Or

Brocade#config term

Brocade(config)# vlan 20

Brocade(config-vlan-20)# untag ether 1/1 <-- port numbering will depend of what type of switch/router you have - use show int bri for a list of port and port numbering)

Above puts port 1/1 into vlan 20 as a untagged port (switch port mode access)

Thanks

Michael.

Super Contributor
mschipp
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Also the attach might be helpful if you know Cisco well.

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
nicholas1
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

I want to add lets say port 24 to vlan 160 how do I do this??

I am new to brocade help!

Super Contributor
mschipp
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Hi ,

     Commands are in Bold

switch>enable

switch#config term

switch(config)#vlan 160

switch(config-vlan-160)#tag ether 1/1/24

The above will add port 1/1/24 to VLAN 160 as a tagged port (use untag ether 1/1/24 if you want it as just a member)

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
nicholas1
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

This may be a dumb question but what does a member or tagged port mean? Its been so long!

And what does the 1/1/24 mean

Does 1 mean switch one and the 2nd 1 mean stack one and 24 means port 24 right?

I do not want to use it as a uplink just a workstation on the network...

Thanks for the help Michael!

Super Contributor
mschipp
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Ok, lets use your terms.

Tagged (stamped with a dot1q value) is uplink

Untagged (no stamp) is for workstations/printers etc

You want to use the untag command.

1/1/24 - First 1 = Stacking unit 1 (will always be 1 if you are not in a stack)

          - second 1 = module number (switch may have more then one module)

          - 24 = yep the port number on the module

Example of an ICX6430 (using show int bri)

1/1/23       Up      Forward Full 1G    None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e56  msserver

1/1/24       Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e57

1/2/1         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e59

1/2/2         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e5a

1/2/3         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e5b

1/2/4         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e5c

mgmt1      Down    None    None None  None  No  None 0   748e.f882.5e40

module 1 is the 24 ports

module 2 is the 4 x SFP ports

Thanks

Michael.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.