Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-21-2011

Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Hi

I issued "show cpu" in the FastIron, however, I got below status. Is this information correct? I cannot believe the switch is 97% busy.

BR-SSH@BRSW#show cpu
97 percent busy, from 25 sec ago
1   sec avg: 97 percent busy
5   sec avg: 98 percent busy
60  sec avg: 96 percent busy
300 sec avg: 96 percent busy

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Hello,

Please run a "sh process cpu" to find what is really causing the CPU to utilize 100%.

Based on the result, you will find whether STP or RSTP, VRRP or any routing protocols are using more CPU.

Thanks

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Ho rbking,

     Sujith has given you good advise here.

     However with 5 min of susstain high CPU you would be able to see, slow network issue and dropped or error packet all of the place.

     If however you do not see any high CPU in the show proc cpu command but the normal show cpu still does, then I think you are running version 7.0 or 7.1 code.  We have seen reported high CPU on these versions.  If that is so then please upgrade to 7.2.0.2d. Checking the release notes will report some bug fixes for this.

     I would suggest anybody running 7.0 or 7.1 on FastIron upgrade to 7.2.02d.

Thanks

Michael.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎07-26-2010

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Hi.

Such a high FastIron CPU could also be caused by faulty hardware like Mgmt mpodule of even power supply which cause interrupts on the CPU.

I had this several times with FSX800/1600: cuase have been faulty  mgmt module and SYS-power supply.

If show process cpu does not show any certain process being high then it might be interrupt issue. => Case for special DM commands.

If possible try v7202d which have some improvements and fixes on CPU.

Cheers

Karlheinz

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-21-2011

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Hi

I have checked using the "show process cpu", it seems there is no high usage. how I can check the version that I am using????

Thanks

rbking

BR-SSH@BRSW#sh cpu 
92 percent busy, from 33 sec ago
1   sec avg: 98 percent busy
5   sec avg: 88 percent busy
60  sec avg: 92 percent busy
300 sec avg: 93 percent busy


BR-SSH@BRSW#sh process cpu
Process Name   5Sec(%)   1Min(%)   5Min(%)   15Min(%)   Runtime(ms)
ARP              0.00      0.01      0.01      0.01        2969449
BGP              0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00              0
DOT1X            0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00              0
ICMP             0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00         484147
IP               0.14      0.16      0.13      0.07       10728989
OSPF             0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00              0
RIP              0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00           3010
STP              0.18      0.18      0.18      0.11        7469772
VRRP             0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00              2
IPv6             0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00         769880
Process Name   5Sec(%)   1Min(%)   5Min(%)   15Min(%)   Runtime(ms)
ICMP6            0.01      0.01      0.01      0.01        1276584
ND6              0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00          10000
RIPng            0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00              0
IPV6_RX          0.00      0.00      0.00      0.00           1088

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎07-26-2010

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Would need

show version

show module

show chassis

to see what you exactly have.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-21-2011

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

can elborate more? as I am not sure whether I have the right to show the serial number.

please help!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎07-26-2010

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

What type of box do you have?

FastIron Chassis or workgroup? Exact model name?

Do a show version and only copy&paste the line with the version number!

like: SW: Version 04.3.00T3e1 Copyright (c) 1996-2008 Foundry Networks,

The show module will not show any serial number, only a mac address.

Thanks

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-21-2011

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

I have marked out those serial #. please help!

BR-SSH@BRSW#sh version

==========================================================================
Active Management CPU :
  SW: Version 05.0.00aT3e2 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Feb 20 2009 at 21:20:45 labeled as SXL05000a
      (2798275 bytes) from Secondary /foundry/SX/os/SXL05000a.bin
      BootROM: Version 05.0.00T3e5 (FEv2)
  HW: Chassis FastIron SX 1600
      Serial  #:
  HW: Chassis FastIron SX 1600
==========================================================================
Standby Management CPU :
  SW: Version 05.0.00aT3e2 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Feb 20 2009 at 21:20:45 labeled as SXL05000a
      BootROM: Version 05.0.00T3e5 (FEv2)
  HW: Chassis FastIron SX 1600
==========================================================================
SL 1: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G
      Serial  #:
      P-ASIC  0: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  1: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
==========================================================================
SL 2: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper

==========================================================================
Active Management CPU :
  SW: Version 05.0.00aT3e2 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Feb 20 2009 at 21:20:45 labeled as SXL05000a
      (2798275 bytes) from Secondary /foundry/SX/os/SXL05000a.bin
      BootROM: Version 05.0.00T3e5 (FEv2)
  HW: Chassis FastIron SX 1600
      Serial  #:
  HW: Chassis FastIron SX 1600
==========================================================================
Standby Management CPU :
  SW: Version 05.0.00aT3e2 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Feb 20 2009 at 21:20:45 labeled as SXL05000a
      BootROM: Version 05.0.00T3e5 (FEv2)
  HW: Chassis FastIron SX 1600
==========================================================================
SL 1: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G
      Serial  #:
      P-ASIC  0: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  1: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
==========================================================================
SL 2: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper
      Serial  #:
      P-ASIC  2: type 00D1, rev D2  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  3: type 00D1, rev D2  subrev 00
==========================================================================
SL 3: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G
      Serial  #:
      P-ASIC  4: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  5: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
==========================================================================
SL 4: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper
      Serial  #:
      P-ASIC  6: type 00D1, rev D2  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  7: type 00D1, rev D2  subrev 00
==========================================================================
SL 5: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G
      Serial  #:
      P-ASIC  8: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  9: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
==========================================================================
SL 9: SX-FIZMR4 0-port Management
      Serial  #:
==========================================================================
SL 10: SX-FIZMR4 0-port Management
      Serial  #:
==========================================================================
Active Management Module:
  660 MHz Power PC processor 8541 (version 32/0020) 66 MHz bus
  512 KB boot flash memory
16384 KB code flash memory
  512 MB DRAM
Standby Management Module:
  660 MHz Power PC processor 8541 (version 32/0020) 66 MHz bus
  512 KB boot flash memory
16384 KB code flash memory
  512 MB DRAM
The system uptime is 75 days 6 hours 6 minutes 34 seconds
The system : started=cold start  

BR-SSH@BRSW#show module
     Module                                 Status    Ports Starting MAC 
F1: SX-FISF Switch Fabric                  active  
F2: SX-FISF Switch Fabric                  active  
S1: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G                   OK          2   0024.3826.0800
S2: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper           OK         24   0024.3826.0800
S3: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G                   OK          2   0024.3826.0800
S4: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper           OK         24   0024.3826.0800
S5: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G                   OK          2   0024.3826.0860
S6:
S7:
S8:
S9: SX-FIZMR4 0-port Management            Active      0
     { Status : OK }
S10: SX-FIZMR4 0-port Management            Standby     0
     { Status : OK }
S11:
S12:
S13:
S14:
S15:
S16:
S17:
S18:
BR-SSH@BRSW#show chassis

Chassis Type: FastIron SX 1600

Power supply 1 (32005000 - AC - Regular) present, status ok
Power supply 2 (32005000 - AC - Regular) present, status ok
Power supply 3 not present
Power supply 4 not present
Power supply 5 not present
Power supply 6 not present
Power supply 7 not present
Power supply 8 not present

Fan 1 ok, speed (auto): 1<->2<->]<->4<->5
Fan 2 ok, speed (auto): 1<->2<->]<->4<->5

Fan controlled temperature:
        Rule 1/3 (MGMT CARDS THERMAL PLANE): 31.5 deg-C
        Rule 2/3 (LINE CARDS THERMAL PLANE): 44.5 deg-C
        Rule 3/3 (SWITCH FABRIC CARDS THERMAL PLANE): 39.5 deg-C

Fan speed switching temperature thresholds:
        Rule 1/3 (MGMT CARDS THERMAL PLANE):
                Speed 1: NM<----->40                            deg-C
                Speed 2:       35<----->48                      deg-C
                Speed 3:             44<----->52                deg-C
                Speed 4:                   48<----->55          deg-C
                Speed 5:                         52<----->80    deg-C (shutdown)
        Rule 2/3 (LINE CARDS THERMAL PLANE):
                Speed 1: NM<----->40                            deg-C
                Speed 2:       35<----->48                      deg-C
                Speed 3:             44<----->52                deg-C
                Speed 4:                   48<----->55          deg-C
                Speed 5:                         52<----->80    deg-C (shutdown)
        Rule 3/3 (SWITCH FABRIC CARDS THERMAL PLANE)***active***:
                Speed 1: NM<----->30                            deg-C
                Speed 2:       25<----->40                      deg-C
                Speed 3:             35<----->55                deg-C
                Speed 4:                   50<----->65          deg-C
                Speed 5:                         60<----->90    deg-C (shutdown)

Slot  1 Temperature: 42.5 deg-C
Slot  2 Temperature: 44.5 deg-C
Slot  3 Temperature: 43.0 deg-C
Slot  4 Temperature: 43.5 deg-C
Slot  5 Temperature: 40.0 deg-C
Slot  6 Temperature: empty
Slot  7 Temperature: empty
Slot  8 Temperature: empty
Slot  9 Temperature: 31.5 deg-C
Slot 10 Temperature: 29.0 deg-C
Slot 11 Temperature: empty
Slot 12 Temperature: empty
Slot 13 Temperature: empty
Slot 14 Temperature: empty
Slot 15 Temperature: empty
Slot 16 Temperature: empty
Slot 17 Temperature: empty
Slot 18 Temperature: empty
  SF  1 Temperature: 40.0 deg-C
  SF  2 Temperature: 36.0 deg-C
Boot Prom MAC: 0024.3826.0800

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎07-26-2010

Re: Problem on "show cpu" in FastIron

Well v5000a is pretty old.

Well i would start with checking hardware; get a maintenance window:

remove power supply #1=> check cpu =>insert PS again

remove power supply #2 => check cpu => insert PS again

If one of this does not resolve CPU load then proceed:

switch over from active mgmt slot 9 to mgmt in slot 10  => be aware this is not hitless with v5000 => pull module 9 out => check CPU

If one of this does not resolve CPU load then proceed

disable switch-fabric 1 => might have a short interrupt on traffic => check CPU

enable switch-fabric 1 again

disable switch-fabric 2 => might have a short interrupt on traffic => check CPU

enable switch-fabric 2 again

If nothing brings the cpu down then maybe email me directly

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.