Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2012

Many Inerrors, CRC and fragments errors

Hi everyone,

Little situation : Fast IronSuper X chassis loaded with SX-FI424C Gig Copper/Poe modules

I'm loosing communication from time to time with an uplink connection. On the uplink port i'm getting  CRC and fragment errors, plus inerrors.

Here's what i've done so far:

-Sniffing packets on that port - nothing wrong

-change cables on both side

-even tried a different switch from were the uplink is coming

Any ideas ?

Thanks

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Many Inerrors, CRC and fragments errors

Hi,

  Check the speed and duplex on both switches and see if that match; have seen this on a mismatched ports before.

  Also setting both sides to 100m-full, clear the port stats for that inerface and see if the errors grow.

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2012

Re: Many Inerrors, CRC and fragments errors

Hi there,

Spee and Duplex is the same on both sides...

I've change port on the brocade... Since then, less errors. Is it possible that a single port is generating this king of problem ? A whole module i can understand, but a single port ?

Also, could it be related to a problem on the wire in the patchpanel ?

thanks

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Many Inerrors, CRC and fragments errors

Hi IT52,

Sure could be an issue with the patch panel - seen that too.

Could be a sinlge port on the card of the FSX - seen that ONCE only

Could be the switch that the FSX is connected two too

Best way is to get hold on a Fluke tester if you can.  if not then move the port to a different port on one or the other switches.

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2012

Re: Many Inerrors, CRC and fragments errors

Thanks for your answers !

Seems to be a problem on a single port of the card. I've change the port number and everything seems ok.

Thanks again

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Many Inerrors, CRC and fragments errors


Hi Lefrenchcowboy,

    Glad you found the issue, if you have support then suggest you logh a call with the TAC to get the card replaced.

Thanks

Michael.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.