Ethernet Switches & Routers

Occasional Contributor

ICX 7450-48

Hello, 

I need some basic help, I am new to brocade and very rusty with my my cisco skills.

I have for the most part setup the swtich very basic.

super user

web-management access 

and set the ip and default gateway on the switch with is also in stack mode with another 7450.

I can connect a device to any port of either swotch  and i pull an ip from my dhcp server and can access network resources as well as the intenet.

However for the life of me i cannot ping the assigned ip of the switch stack  from any device on the network, nor in the CLI thru the console port can i ping anything on the network not even the gateway.

Not sure why, and since i cannot ping it i therefore cannot access the web interface to setup vlans and dhcp pools.

any help would be appreicated. 

Occasional Contributor

Re: ICX 7450-48

I'm in the same boat.  You look a little further than I though.  I need to set the VLAN's still.  I need to set the Management IP again.  I set an IP in global config, but since I don't know if that will work on the management port, I'll blow it away and specify the IP on the management port.

Occasional Contributor

Great Im glad that im not the only one having troubles with this.

I am confused as to the ip, I've seen where some users use the following code 

ip address 172.16.20.248/24

default-gateway 172.16.20.1

web-management ethernet 1/1/1

create ssl blah blah

So what this is saying is that they only thing that can reach the web-interdace is something connected to that port?

My question still stands if the stack has an ip assigned to it and the correct gateway then it should be pingable from any other device on the network. that way I can also create ssh keys to be able to console in from any device on the network.

Am I correct or just totally way off the mark?

Occasional Contributor