Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-14-2010

Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE

We have  Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE. Is this capable of layer 3 routing?

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE

Hi,

     All of the FastIron are capable of layer 3.  By default they will come with layer 2 in the primary flas and base layer 3 in the secondary.  Most allow the box to be upgraded by ether EEPROM or software license to full layer 3 (if you have not order full layer-3.

check the results of the 'show flash' command to see what code you have in the switch.

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-14-2010

Re: Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE

Hi Mschipp,

I run the show flash command, this is the result:

FGS648P-STK Switch>sh flash
Stack unit 1:
  Compressed Pri Code size = 3150071, Version 05.0.01T7e1 (FGS05001.bin)
  Compressed Sec Code size = 3435681, Version 05.0.01T7e1 (FGL05001.bin)
  Compressed BootROM Code size = 416213, Version 05.0.00T7e5
  Code Flash Free Space = 458752
FGS648P-STK Switch>

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE

Hi,

     Ok  you both layer 2 and layer 3 (base) on this box.

Pri Code size = 3150071, Version 05.0.01T7e1 (FGS05001.bin)
Sec Code size = 3435681, Version 05.0.01T7e1 (FGL05001.bin)

The S = switch (layer 2)

The L = Base layer 3

from the enabled prompt type 'show boot'

You see something like the below

Fastiron#show boot
1 percent busy, from 45 sec ago
Boot system preference(Configured):
       Boot system flash primary

Boot system preference(Default):
        Boot system flash primary
        Boot system flash secondary
Fastiron#

If your result show that the system boot from primart, then you are running layer 2, if not then base layer 3.

If you wish to change from layer 2 to layer 3 note most of the config will need to be redone.

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-14-2010

Re: Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE

Hi Michael,

Thank you very much on your info.

Regards,

Liju

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Foundry Fastlron GS 648P - POE

Hi Liju,

     You are welcome.  Could you please mark are answered if you are happy with the answer?

Thanks

Michael.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.