Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-28-2014
Accepted Solution

Foundry FastIron GS648P

Hello,

 

I am wondering does my switch support 802.1x multi-host configuration or to which version do I have to upgrade to get this working, as I do not have it available at the moment.

 

Current version:

Switch1#sh version
SW: Version 05.0.01T7e1 Copyright (c) 1996-2008 Foundry Networks, Inc.
Compiled on Dec 05 2008 at 18:26:23 labeled as FGS05001
(3150071 bytes) from Primary FGS05001.bin
BootROM: Version 05.0.00T7e5 (FEv2)

 

Thank you very much

 

Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

Does nobody have a clue??

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

hi stoimen.hristov,

   Looking at the manual for 5.02 for FGS and I can see Authenticating multiple hosts connected to the same port on page 1495 of the config guide.  Checking in 4.3 and it is also there, so should be on 5.01 as well.

 

Thanks

Michael.

Thanks
Michael
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

Hello mschipp@a10network.com

 

I'm glad that it exists on loder versions but this does not change the fact that the configuration line does not exist...

Do I miss something? For instance, do I have to activate something which will allow me to use this command???

 

Anyway, thanks for the reply...

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

[ Edited ]

Hi stoimen.hristov,

   I checked the next version after yours and before the next version of yours - both have it - it will be in yours as well.

 

   But yes there is a command tht you have to enable to make it work.  It is NOT on by deafult.

Thanks

Michael.

Thanks
Michael
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

Ok I downloaded the 5.0.01 Config guide, yes it is there.  Please download it and look at PDF page no. 1338. This will give you what you need.

 

Thanks

Michael.

Thanks
Michael
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

Can you provide me with a link of the proper document, please? And if possible where do you look for it, as I found some docs but am not quite sure it's the ones that I need...

 

Thank you very much

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

Goto my.brocade.com

On the top clieck ducoumentation and in the sreach feild type 'fastiron GS' then click search.

 

expand 5001--> manuals 

select fastiron dec2008 ConfigGuide - this is the guide with what you want for the version you have.

 

Thanks

Michael.

Thanks
Michael
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

It turns out I have already read this article.

 

Brocade(config)#aaa authentication dot1x default radius
Brocade(config)#radius-server host 192.168.9.22 auth-port 1812 acct-port 1813
default key mirabeau dot1x
Brocade(config)#dot1x-enable e 1
Brocade(config-dot1x)#re-authentication
Brocade(config-dot1x)#timeout re-authperiod 2000
Brocade(config-dot1x)#timeout quiet-period 30
Brocade(config-dot1x)#timeout tx-period 60
Brocade(config-dot1x)#maxreq 6
Brocade(config-dot1x)#exit
Brocade(config)#interface e 1
Brocade(config-if-e1000-1)#dot1x port-control auto
Brocade(config-if-e1000-1)#dot1x multiple-hosts
Brocade(config-if-e1000-1)#exit

 

Every line could be typed on my FastIron exept for the dot1x multiple-hosts

 

Why? Do I have to up/downgrade the switch?

 

Thank you 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Foundry FastIron GS648P

Hmm, that is a bit strange.  I read through the section on 802.1X again and found a comment that states multi host support is enabled by default, can you please check that using the 'show dot1x config eth 1' comand - looking for multi-hosts.

 

There will be no need to downgrade, but you might have to upgrade at some point.  At this stage lets just see what the switch is saying.

 

Thanks

Michael.

Thanks
Michael

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.