Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-26-2012

Error can't change speed and duplex

I am unable to change the speed and duplex of the Port shows error can't change speed and duplex..Please correct where i am going wrong.

telnet@MLX-16(config-if-e1000-10/15)#speed-duplex 1000-full-master
Invalid input -> 1000-full-master
Type ? for a list
telnet@MLX-16(config-if-e1000-10/15)#speed-duplex 1000-master
Error - can't change speed and duplex mode

First it doesn't shows an option 1000-full-master............and when i try to put speed-duplex 1000-full-master...shows error... 

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Error can't change speed and duplex

Hi ranand,

     Below is from the 5.2 manual for the MLX. However are you setting this on a 1000-baseT or an SFP? Also what version are you running? (find via show version)

Modifying port speed

Each of the 10/100/1000BaseTX ports is designed to auto-sense and auto-negotiate the speed and mode of the connected device. If the attached device does not support this operation, you can manually enter the port speed to operate at either 10 Mbps or 100 Mbps. The default value is 10 or 100 half- or full-duplex.

NOTE

Modifying the port speed of a port that has a pre-configured rate limit policy may result in the inability to remove the port's rate limit policy.

To change the port speed of interface 1/8 from the default of 10/100 auto-sense to 10 Mbps operating at full-duplex, first disable the port. Then, enter the following.

Brocade(config)# interface e 1/8

Brocade(config-if-e10000-1/8)# speed-duplex 10-full

Syntax: speed-duplex <value>

The <value> can be one of the following:

  • 10-full
  • 10-half
  • 100-full
  • 100-half
  • 1000-full
  • 1000-half
  • auto

The default is auto.

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-26-2012

Re: Error can't change speed and duplex

the change which i am trying to make is the below version and it is SFP port

SL 9: NI-MLX-1Gx20-SFP 20-port 1GbE-100FX Module
Boot     : Version 3.5.0T175 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.
Compiled on Jul 10 2007 at 19:14:32 labeled as xmlprm03500
(387133 bytes) from boot flash
Monitor  : Version 3.5.0bT175 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.
Compiled on Sep 21 2007 at 16:51:00 labeled as xmlb03500b
(387220 bytes) from code flash
IronWare : Version 4.1.0T177 Copyright (c) 1996-2009 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.
Compiled on Mar 25 2010 at 00:12:40 labeled as xmlp04100ba
(3679208 bytes) from Primary
FPGA versions:
Valid PBIF Version = 3.14, Build Time = 12/17/2008 14:32:00

WARN: Invalid XPP Version = 5.07, Build Time = 12/9/2008 16:39:00

BCM5695GMAC 0
BCM5695GMAC 1
666 MHz MPC 8541 (version 8020/0020) 333 MHz bus
512 KB Boot Flash (AM29LV040B), 16 MB Code Flash (MT28F640J3)
512 MB DRAM, 8 KB SRAM, 286331153 Bytes BRAM
PPCR0: 768K entries CAM, 8192K PRAM, 2048K AGE RAM

And the configuration which is already applied but not taking place on above port

interface ethernet 1
port-name ##### primary
speed-duplex 1000-full-master
no spanning-tree
gig-default neg-off
!

  SW: Version 04.2.00aT3e1 Copyright (c) 1996-2008 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Aug 26 2008 at 20:23:24 labeled as SXS04200a
      (2934385 bytes) from Primary SXS04200a.bin
      BootROM: Version 04.0.00T3e5 (FEv2)
  HW: Stackable FESX424HF+2XG
==========================================================================
      Serial  #: FL41073794
      P-ASIC  0: type 00D1, rev D2  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  1: type 00D1, rev D2  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  2: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
      P-ASIC  3: type 01D1, rev 00  subrev 00
==========================================================================
  333 MHz Power PC processor 8245 (version 129/1014) 66 MHz bus
  512 KB boot flash memory
16384 KB code flash memory
  128 MB DRAM

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Error can't change speed and duplex

Hi ranand,

     Hmm I am a bit confussed here.

The first line 'SL 9: NI-MLX-1Gx20-SFP 20-port 1GbE-100FX Module' So I know it is a MLX and 20 port SFP in slot 9

However the below info is for a FESX 1.5 RU switch?

SW: Version 04.2.00aT3e1 Copyright (c) 1996-2008 Foundry Networks, Inc.
Compiled on Aug 26 2008 at 20:23:24 labeled as SXS04200a
(2934385 bytes) from Primary SXS04200a.bin
BootROM: Version 04.0.00T3e5 (FEv2)
HW: Stackable FESX424HF+2XG

Can you please confirm?  Also please list the product code on the SFP e.g. E1MG-TX, E1MG-SX-om, E1MG-SX)

What is the device to are connecting to? Does it not support Auto?

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-26-2012

Re: Error can't change speed and duplex

First one is a Router MLX and another is a SWitch.

On router, present config is

interface ethernet 9/16
port-name ####
enable
no spanning-tree
gig-default neg-off

Device is a Media Gateway and Present status is  i am able to ping it....but what it happens after one or two day it does't ping..so i remove gig-default neg-off line from interface...and gets started pinging.

same MG is plugged onto switch which is in production and below is the config

interface ethernet 1
port-name ####
speed-duplex 1000-full-master
no spanning-tree
gig-default neg-off

so i was trying to add the same config and add speed-duplex 1000-full-master line but not able to...please suggest...

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Error can't change speed and duplex

Hi ranand,

     Ok so you want to get it working on the FESX switch, yes?

     As the MG is causing some issue here, I would suggest that you config both the switch port and the MG to 100-full, this is what we needed to do to get our MG to work.

     Note: For 1G you shhould not have to set the port to 1000-master or slave, it is recommended (by all vendors that I know) to always leave as Auto.

     Also what type of SFP are you using copper or fibre?

Thanks

Michael.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.