Ethernet Switches & Routers

Confused on Management VLAN and Management Port

[ Edited ]

Hello All,

I am currently configuring an ICX 6450-24 Switch. Since I am new to Brocade, I am doing a bit of practise with the device to understand the configuration fully.

When I create a "management-vlan" and add only a few ports in that vlan, then I am not able to access switch from any other port as it should be the case (with all the other ports on default vlan ID).

But when I am assigning IP to the Management Port, then I am able to access the switch from other ports, as the IP assignment to the switch is done globally and not for Management Interface.

If that is the case, how will I be able to configure Out-of-Band network configuration using only management ports. Moreover, it is not possible to add those ports on any VLANs. Not even on default VLAN. It seems that the Management Port becomes a part of Default VLAN

This also means that if someone connects a system to a default VLAN port, then they have the ability to issue, for example, "telnet", even though they may not have telnet access permissions through acl or user ID/pass. Doesn't this pose a security risk?

I know, some people may say that I should keep the unused ports "disabled". But, what if I don't want to do that?

Brocadian

Re: Confused on Management VLAN and Management Port

some of the rules on Management port:

- A management port is not part of any VLAN

- Creating a management VLAN disables the management port on the device.

For switches, any in-band port may be used for management purposes. A router sends Layer 3

packets using the MAC address of the port as the source MAC address.

Designated VLAN for Telnet management sessions to a Layer 2 Switch

All Brocade FastIron devices support the creation of management VLANs. By default, the

management IP address you configure on a Layer 2 Switch applies globally to all the ports on the