Ethernet Switches & Routers

Occasional Contributor

Can't get turboiron 10g interface up with brocade active 3m sfp cable

Hi,

I'm new to Brocade prodcuts so please bear with me.  We have two Ti24's for 10gig nfs from storage to vmware hosts that I am trying to implement.  I have 5 esxi servers connected with a 10gbe link to each switch and they all link up and I've tested vmotion over it and its very fast.

Now I am trying to get the storage array connected which is an EMC VNX5200.  They supplied me with Brocade Active Twinax 3m cables so I plugged them into the array's 10gbe ethernet sfp ports and the other end into the brocade (4 cables in total).  The link light just will not illuminate on the switch or the storage array.

On the storage array I assigned IP addresses and ensured that these interfaces are live.  On the switch I went into the ports, in this example e10 and e20 and did "enable" and they really should be enabled by default because I didn't have to do that for ports 1 through 5 for my vmhosts.

If I show media for e1 I see the cable there which says 10GER Twinax 1 (SFP +) Vendor: BROCADE Version: A, Part#: 58-1000026-01.  I've done the same for the Brocade branded cables provided by EMC for this solution (they also spec'd the switch and everything) and it just says Type: 1G M-C (Gig-Copper).

If I sh int e20 for example I get this:

10GigabitEthernet20 is down, line protocol is down
Hardware is 10GigabitEthernet, address is 748e.f86c.bde7 (bia 748e.f86c.bde7)
Configured speed 10Gbit, actual unknown, configured duplex fdx, actual unknown
Member of L2 VLAN ID 1, port is untagged, port state is BLOCKING
BPDU guard is Disabled, ROOT protect is Disabled
Link Error Dampening is Disabled
STP configured to ON, priority is level0
Flow Control is enabled
Mirror disabled, Monitor disabled
Not member of any active trunks
Not member of any configured trunks
No port name
IPG XGMII 96 bits-time
MTU 9216 bytes