Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
New Contributor
Cookie971
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Brocade CER 2024F: NO NAT !!!

Dear Brocade Community,

I didn't realize that NAT was not supported until I bought the box what a bummer. Now I'm looking for a way to route my internal ip customer to the internet without success. Is there a way to provide internet access to customers behind port 1/2 on outgoing port 1/1? If yes what would be the best way to do it ?

On Ethernet 1/1 :

Current configuration:

!

ver V5.2.0cT183

!

!

no spanning-tree

!

!

vlan 1 name DEFAULT-VLAN

!

!

clock timezone gmt GMT-04

enable telnet password .....

enable super-user-password .....

enable port-config-password .....

enable read-only-password .....

enable aaa console

logging console

telnet server

username admin password .....                                    

ip route 0.0.0.0/0 20x.72.x28.142 name GCN

ip route 10.0.0.0/22 ethernet 1/2

!

!

!

ip proxy-arp

!

!

ip dns server-address 10.0.0.10 10.0.0.11

hostname BrocadeCER2024F

!

!

!

interface loopback 1

ip address 192.168.10.254/24

!

!

interface ethernet 1/1

port-name toInternet

enable                                                          

route-only

ip address 20x.72.x28.141/30

ip local-proxy-arp

ip access-group 101 in

ip access-group 101 out

optical-monitor

!

interface ethernet 1/2

enable

route-only

ip address 10.0.1.254/22

ip access-group 101 in

ip access-group 101 out

!                                                            

access-list 101 permit tcp 10.0.0.0 0.0.3.255 any

access-list 101 permit udp 10.0.0.0 0.0.3.255 any

access-list 101 permit icmp 10.0.0.0 0.0.3.255 any

!

!

end

Thank you very much for your support.

Sincerely

Frequent Contributor
Grace.Chang
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎02-14-2011

Re: Brocade CER 2024F: NO NAT !!!

Hi cookie971,

I have moved your discussion thread to the Ethernet Switches and Routers Forum as that will be the best place for you and others users to find this particular discussion thread. This forum is for non-product related questions.

Thank you for using Brocade Communities!

Cheers,

Grace Chang

Global Community Manager

New Contributor
noc26
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: Brocade CER 2024F: NO NAT !!!

Sorry to hear, but you did buy the wrong box for that. You will need a NAT capable device to translate your 10.0.1.0/22 network to the global subnet. As far as i know Brocade doesn't have NAT capable devices in it's portfolio

New Contributor
Cookie971
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Re: Brocade CER 2024F: NO NAT !!!

To Brocade Tech Support:

Please include NAT in the next software for the CER 2024F, that is the only function that is lacking for Brocade to actually start competing with Juniper and Cisco on the edge router for the data center and small service provider.

Is there another way to translate private IPs to the public internet without using NAT? any ideas ?

Occasional Contributor
shayne1
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-20-2010

Re: Brocade CER 2024F: NO NAT !!!

Well, the ServerIron ADX can NAT, but it's probably not what you need.  Also, with the acquisition of Vyatta, it can NAT and do stateful inspection firewall, as well as all the other basics.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.