Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎07-08-2011

Adding switch to stack

We have an FCX648S that has been configured as part of the stack, but the feature is disabled. It is the only member of the stack. The idea being to add a second switch to the stack once we had the budget to order one. Well we do now and would like to add it in.

What are the steps? Connect the cables and it will automatically add itself? The only issue I see is that there is a trunk to the last 4 ports in the first switch and we want to get it so that its the last two ports in each of the switches instead. Below is config. Will there be any downtime?

telnet@SW-B#show run

Current configuration:

!

ver 07.4.00aT7f1

!

stack unit 1

  module 1 fcx-48-port-management-module

  module 2 fcx-cx4-2-port-16g-module

  priority 128

stack disable

stack mac 0024.38c1.bcc0

!

!

!

trunk ethe 1/1/45 to 1/1/48

port-name "Trunk CORE-1" ethernet 1/1/45

!

vlan 1 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port

!

vlan 1 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port

!

vlan 101 name VLAN-101-iSCSI by port

tagged ethe 1/1/45 to 1/1/48

..........

interface ethernet 1/1/45

port-name Trunk CORE-1

dual-mode

spanning-tree 802-1w admin-pt2pt-mac

flow-control neg-on

!

And this is other stuff:

telnet@SW-B#show trunk

Configured trunks:

Trunk ID: 45

Hw Trunk ID: 1

Ports_Configured: 4

Primary Port Monitored: Jointly

Ports   PortName Port_Status Monitor Rx_Mirr Tx_Mirr Monitor_Dir

1/1/45  Trunk *  enable      off     N/A     N/A     N/A

1/1/46  none     enable      off     N/A     N/A     N/A

1/1/47  none     enable      off     N/A     N/A     N/A

1/1/48  none     enable      off     N/A     N/A     N/A

Operational trunks:

Trunk ID: 45

Hw Trunk ID: 1

Duplex: Full

Speed: 1G

Tag: Yes

Priority: level0

Active Ports: 3

Ports   Link_Status port_state

1/1/45  active      Forward

1/1/46  active      Forward

1/1/47  down        Blocked

1/1/48  active      Forward

.............

telnet@SW-B#show ver

  Copyright (c) 1996-2012 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc. All rights reserved.

    UNIT 1: compiled on Jul 16 2012 at 17:20:53 labeled as FCXS07400a

                (5696874 bytes) from Primary FCXS07400a.bin

        SW: Version 07.4.00aT7f1

  Boot-Monitor Image size = 370555, Version:07.3.02T7f5 (grz07302)

  HW: Stackable FCX648S-PREM (PROM-TYPE FCX-ADV-U)

==========================================================================

UNIT 1: SL 1: FCX-48GS 48-port Management Module

         Serial  #: BCX2212G15Z

         License: BASE_SOFT_PACKAGE   (LID: dezHHGHiGKb)

         P-ENGINE  0: type DB90, rev 01

         P-ENGINE  1: type DB90, rev 01

         PROM-TYPE: FCX-ADV-U

==========================================================================

UNIT 1: SL 2: FCX-2XGC 2-port 16G Module (2-CX4)

==========================================================================

  800 MHz Power PC processor 8544E (version 0021/0022) 400 MHz bus

65536 KB flash memory

  256 MB DRAM

STACKID 1  system uptime is 8 days 22 hours 42 minutes 27 seconds

The system started at 16:22:35 Eastern Tue Aug 28 2012

The system : started=warm start         reloaded=by "reload"

telnet@SW-B#

telnet@SW-B#

telnet@SW-B#show flash

Stack unit 1:

  Compressed Pri Code size = 5696874, Version:07.4.00aT7f1 (FCXS07400a.bin)

  Compressed Sec Code size = 3805331, Version:07.0.01bT7f1 (/foundry/FGS/os/FCXS07001b.bin)

  Compressed Boot-Monitor Image size = 370555, Version:07.3.02T7f5

  Code Flash Free Space = 55705600

telnet@SW-B#

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Adding switch to stack

Hi Blake,

     Firstly make sure the new unit is running the same code version as your existing stack (7.4.00a).

Installing a new unit in an IronStack using secure-setup

This method can be applied to clean units, or units that have existing configurations.

1. Connect the new unit to the stack by connecting the 10 Gbps stacking ports.

2. Run secure-setup on the Active Controller and assign an ID to the new unit. The Active

Controller will reset the new unit.

3. Once the new unit boots and joins the stack, do a write memory on the Active Controller.

Only the new member will reboot.

Thanks

Michael.

Contributor
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎07-08-2011

Re: Adding switch to stack

Thanks. I tried to do this and it caused a loop of some sort.

I upgraded the firmware and bootrom to the same versions that the first unit is on.

I then plugged in the stacking cables.

I then went into the active/first switch

I enabled stacking (because you can't run secure-setup until you enable it.

I ran secure setup. And right after the first spot I saw my ping start dropping. I quickly disabled stacking and the loop disappeared. See steps here:

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#show stack

***** Warning! stack is not enabled. *****

alone: standalone, D: dynamic config, S: static config

ID   Type         Role    Mac Address    Pri State   Comment

1  S FCX648S      alone   0024.38c1.bcc0 128 local   None:0

     +---+

-2/2| 1 |2/1-

     +---+

Current stack management MAC is 0024.38c1.bcc0

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#^C

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#sho run

Current configuration:

!

ver 07.4.00aT7f1

!

stack unit 1

  module 1 fcx-48-port-management-module

  module 2 fcx-cx4-2-port-16g-module

  priority 128

stack disable

stack mac 0024.38c1.bcc0

!

!

!

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#exit

iSCSI-SW-B#stack secure-setup

Stacking feature is not enabled on the unit...

iSCSI-SW-B#conf t

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#stack enable

Enable stacking. This unit actively participates in stacking

stacking is enable. optical monitoring for stacking ports 1/2/1, 1/2/2 is not available.

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#exit

iSCSI-SW-B#stack secure-setup

iSCSI-SW-B#Discovering the stack topology...

Current Discovered Topology - RING

Available UPSTREAM units

Hop(s)  Id      Type          Mac Address

1       new  FCX648S        0024.38c1.b1c0

Available DOWNSTREAM units

Hop(s)  Id      Type          Mac Address

1       new  FCX648S        0024.38c1.b1c0

Do you accept the topology (RING) (y/n)?: y

! -----------------------------------------------------------------------AFTER THIS STEP THE DROPS STARTED

Selected Topology:

Active  Id      Type          Mac Address

        1    FCX648S        0024.38c1.bcc0

Selected UPSTREAM units

Hop(s)  Id      Type        Mac Address

1       2    FCX648S        0024.38c1.b1c0

Selected DOWNSTREAM units

Hop(s)  Id      Type        Mac Address

1       2    FCX648S        0024.38c1.b1c0

Do you accept the unit id's (y/n)?: n

! -----------------------------------------------------------------------I QUICKLY CANCELED OUT OF THIS AND DISABLED STACKING TO GET THINGS WORKING AGAIN.

Enter an unused id for the UPSTREAM FCX648S unit at 1 hop(s) (1-8): secure-setup cancelled..                                                                                                      .

iSCSI-SW-B#conf t

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#stack disable

Disable stacking. This unit will not be part of any stack

iSCSI-SW-B(config)#

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.