Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-22-2013

FCoE initialization issues on 1020 CNA & Nexus 7k

Hi,

We recently started using FCoE SANs in our environment. Servers are IBM Server X with the Dual Port 1020 CNA installed. SAN implementation on a Cisco Nexus 7k with an F1-32 port module installed. FCoE is licensed on the module and a storage VDC has been created.

Problem is the CNA never shows up on the Nexus switch when you query the flogi database and we turn on debug on the switch, we notice flogi login failures. We doubled checked the Qos policies on the switch, seems that for the Nexus 7k you only need the default-nq-7e-policy and -nq-7e-ndrop-fcoe policies.  Does anyone have any experience with using the Nexus 7k for FCoE deployments?

DCB Status.jpg

External Moderator
Posts: 4,811
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FCoE initialization issues on 1020 CNA & Nexus 7k

obinna,

you are most welcome here with Brocade Product, and admit you have a Problem with Brocade CNA.

However I'm the opinion with such Cisco question,

->Does anyone have any experience with using the Nexus 7k for FCoE deployments?

you should post better in Cisco Community.

BTW, I hear Cisco not support Brocade CNA Board, but I'm not 100% if this is true or not.

have a look here please

http://www.brocade.com/downloads/documents/reference_guides/Brocade_HBA_CNA_Support_Matrix_02.pdf

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-22-2013

Re: FCoE initialization issues on 1020 CNA & Nexus 7k

Thanks Tech,

I made an official request to Brocade concerning compatibility and they responded that the CNA and Nexus 7k are indeed compatible. It actually works fine for 10GbE except this FCoE login issue.

My Server OS is Windows Server 2008 and I am using driver version 3.2.1.0 for the CNA. Is there anything else I d need to do on the server to get it to work? When i query the CNA using the bcu utility i get the response below,

C:\Program Files\BROCADE\Adapter\driver\util>bcu port --query 1/1

function id: 1/1/1

port type: 10G Eth

port mode: CNA

port instance: 1

port name:

Media: sw

Speed: 10G

CNA/DCB state: Linkup

Beacon status: Off

FCoE:

MAC: 8c:7c:ff:20:ab:85

PWWN: 10:00:8c:7c:ff:20:ab:85

NWWN: 20:00:8c:7c:ff:20:ab:85

        state: Linkdown

supported classes:  Class-3

symbolic name:      Brocade-1020 | 3.2.1.0 | <Server Name> | Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise | Service Pack 1

maximum frame size: 2112

receive bb credits: 48

transmit bb credits:1

QOS: Disabled

TRL: Disabled

TRL default speed:  1G

SCSI queue Depth:   0

pbind status:       Enabled

Vlan: 0

Eth:

MAC: 8c:7c:ff:20:ab:87

        Factory MAC:        8c:7c:ff:20:ab:87

state: Linkup

OS Eth Device:      Local Area Connection 4

C:\Program Files\BROCADE\Adapter\driver\util>

External Moderator
Posts: 4,811
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FCoE initialization issues on 1020 CNA & Nexus 7k

->....are indeed compatible. is not the same as is Supported.

when you say "works fine for 10GbE except this FCoE login issue."

-> Is there anything else I d need to do on the server to get it to work?

I believe but I'm not most experienced with, you cannot configured/load the CNA drivers for Eth and FCoE at same time.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-22-2013

Re: FCoE initialization issues on 1020 CNA & Nexus 7k

You have a point but I am not so sure about that.

Another point to add is that i get a lot of LLDP Rx Frames invalid

C:\Program Files\BROCADE\Adapter\driver\util>bcu dcb --stats 1/1

DCB Statistics:

        LLDP Tx Frames : 303

        LLDP Rx Frames : 0

        LLDP Rx Frames invalid : 294

        LLDP Rx Frames new : 0

        LLDP Rx unrecog. TLVs : 0

        LLDP Rx shutdown TLVs : 0

        LLDP remote info aged : 0

        DCBX phy link ups : 3

        DCBX phy link downs : 4

        DCBX Rx TLVs : 0

        DCBX Rx TLVs invalid : 0

        DCBX control TLV errors : 0

        DCBX feature TLV errors : 0

        DCBX new CEE cfg rcvd : 0

        DCB status down : 0

        DCB status up : 0

        DCB hw cfg changed : 0

        DCB invalid cfg : 0

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.