Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

New Contributor

Big problems setting up a Brocade 6720 as "simple plug & play" 10 GBit Ethernet switch - Help needed!

[ Edited ]

Hi All,

I am totally new to Brocade switches. We recently bought a used Brocade 6720 switch with 60 enabled ports to be used as a standart 10 GBit ethernet switch, so we can connect our Windows / Mac / Linux workstations to it, as well as our Windows or Linux servers, for peer to peer networking.

The show license command shows only the additional port licenses, so 60 ports are enabled.

There is no Layer 3, VDX, FCoE license shown. Do I need any of them?

If yes, which, how and where can I obtain one?

• sw0# show license
  • rbridge-id: 1
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    First Ports on Demand license - additional 10 port upgrade license
    Feature nameSmiley TongueORTS_ON_DEMAND_1
    Second Ports on Demand license - additional 10 port upgrade license
    Feature nameSmiley TongueORTS_ON_DEMAND_2

The NOS is 2.1.0. Is that OK?

I've seen some have at least a NOS 3.0 version, somewhere a NOS 4.0 was mentioned, but I was not sure if that was for the 6720.

What is the latest NOS version supported and where can I get it from?

As the product is EOL, is there any chance at all to obtain something?

• sw0# show version
  • Network Operating System Software
    Network Operating System Version: 2.1.0
    Copyright (c) 1995-2010 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.
    Build Time: 21:10:10 Sep 28, 2011
    Firmware name: v2.1.0Control Processor: Freescale Semiconductor 8548E with 2000 MB of memory
  • Appl Primary/Secondary Versions
    ------------------------------------------
    NOS v2.1.0
    v2.1.0

The switch is currently configured running in VCS mode, not standalone mode.

The connected Brocade SFP+ modules are recognized, the links are seen (as far as I can tell from the boot log).